The Council of Bishops


The Society is governed by a Council of Bishops, consisting of:

  • Diocesan and suffragan bishops of the Church of England who agree with the Society’s objects, and
  • Such other bishops who are in agreement with the Society’s objects as shall be invited to be members of the Council.

The bishops consult from time to time with those bishops of the Society who are retired. Five of the eight members of the Council of Bishops are members of the Council of Forward in Faith, which includes elected representatives of the clergy and laity of the Catholic Movement and also leading members of the Catholic Group in General Synod and the principal catholic societies.


The Director of Forward in Faith is the Secretary of the Council of Bishops.